Almost exactly a year since last year’s event, the “Simojoki Family Consort”, as we were style, was privileged to give another lunchtime concert at Holy Trinity church in Fareham. It was also the world premier performance of the Furzehall Quartet!

You can listen to the whole thing here:

The performance was also captured on video (with a couple of bars missing at the start of one piece):


Simojoki Family: West Side Story Medley — L. Bernstein (1918–90) [arr. J. van der Goot]
Daniel Simojoki: Prelude from Suite No. 2 in G Minor — J.S. Bach (1685–1750)
Hanna Simojoki: Presto from Sonata No. 1 in G Minor — J.S. Bach
Furzehall Quartet: Presto from String Quartet No. 3 in G, K. 156/134b — W.A. Mozart (1756–91)
Hanna, Daniel & Tapani Simojoki: Andante from Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat, D. 929 — F. Schubert (1797–1828)
Daniel Simojoki: Menuetto from Six Easy Pieces, Op. 121 No. 2 — E. Melartin (1875–1937)
Romance from ‘Four Pieces’, Op. 78 No. 2 — J. Sibelius (1865–1957)
Hanna Simojoki: Valse from ‘Five Pieces’, Op. 81, No. 3 — J. Sibelius
Simojoki family: Andante Festivo — J. Sibelius [arr. T. Simojoki]
Hanna & Daniel Simojoki: ’Jeesuksesta laulan’ — S. Korpela (1863–1936)/M. Hela (1890–1965) [arr. H. Simojoki]*
Simojoki family: ’Jo mahtaisimme yötä ja päivääkin kiittää’ — Trad. Finnish (19th century) [arr. T. Simojoki]*

* Texts and translations are printed with the YouTube videos

Simojoki Family Consort
Hanna: violin, voice
Daniel: cello, voice
Elias: trumpet, voice
Markus: viola, voice
Sarah: flute, voice
Tapani: piano, cello, voice

Furzehall Quartet:
Hanna Simojoki – Violin 1
Hameem Khan – Violin 2
Shahryar Khan – Viola
Daniel Simojoki – cello